Georgetown County Museum at the History Center
The Georgetown County Museum was officially established under the auspices of the Georgetown County Historical Society in 2005. The Society obtained 501 (c) 3 non-profit status that same year and began operating the Museum at that time in the historic Masonic Lodge (1740) facility located at 632 Prince Street in Georgetown, South Carolina.
Today, the Museum is located in The History Center at 120 Broad Street which opened in early 2014. The Museum has experienced tremendous growth since opening the doors to the public. The Museum depends heavily upon a dedicated cadre of volunteers from the local community. Paid staff consists of a full-time Director and a part-time assistant to maintain continuity of the day-to-day activities of the Museum. Artifacts and items of historical significance and displays in the Museum are the results of gifts from residents of the Georgetown County community and from those outside the local area who are interested in preserving and documenting the rich cultural history of Georgetown County. The operating budget, at its core is sustained by membership dues and receipts from sales from the Rice Trunk Gift Shop as well as visitor admission fees.
Special events such as the Winyah Bay Heritage Festival and donations from major contributors also play a valuable and important role in the financial support of the continuing operations of the Museum.